Surrey LIP Convenes Special Citizenship Planning Team
Wednesday, November 9, 2016

With funding from the Institute for Canadian Citizenship and in close collaboration with Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, the Surrey LIP has put together a team of community representatives to plan and host a Special Citizenship Ceremony right here at Surrey City Hall!

The team will convene approximately once a month until the ceremony, to be held in April 2017. The committee will organize the roundtable discussions to take place before the official ceremony, as well as the entertainment and refreshments for a post-ceremony celebration! 

The members of the Surrey Special Citizenship Ceremony Committee are:

  • Ashleigh Rajala, City of Surrey
  • Joanna Habdank, MOSAIC, Co-Deputy Chair
  • Jonquil Hallgate, Surrey Interfaith Council
  • Lily Yang, IAR
  • Mayyahdah Al-Ani, IAR
  • Monica Mohammad, RCMP
  • Monique Craigen, RCMP
  • Olga Shcherbyna, Surrey LIP, Secretary 
  • Pardeep Grewal, Vancity, Treasurer 
  • Piyush Mehta, IAR
  • Preeti Hiro, IAR
  • Rosy Takhar, RCMP, Co-Chair
  • Sangita Sood, Vancity, Co-Deputy Chair
  • Tania Tong, Surrey Libraries
  • Wade Deisman, KPU
  • Wafa Al-jabiri, IAR, Co-Chair
  • ​Muna Amir, IAR
  • Inder Sanghera, SFU

Quick Fact About the Building Citizenship Program:

  • Initiated by ICC approximately 8-10 years ago
  • A network of volunteer-run Special Citizenship Ceremony Committees across Canada
  • ICC provides small funding, training and support to Committees
  • The Ceremony includes roundtable discussions led by community leaders and residents
  • The discussion summaries help the ICC do their advocacy and policy work in Canada (Cultural Access Pass was introduced as a result of the first discussions at such ceremonies)
  • More information: https://www.icc-icc.ca/en/bc/