Surrey School District #36
Caroline Lai
Manager, ELL Welcome Centre


The Surrey School District was formed in 1906. It has the largest student enrolment in British Columbia and is one of the few growing districts in the province. It is governed by a publicly elected board of seven trustees. The district serves the cities of Surrey and White Rock and the rural area of Barnston Island, with a total area of approximately 328 square kilometres.

Our Mission: We engage our students in developing the knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary to build a healthy, democratic and diverse society. The largest district in B.C., the Surrey School District has 101 elementary schools, 19 secondary schools, five learning centres, four adult education centres, a distributed (online) learning program and a variety of satellite and inter-agency programs serving a wide range of student needs.

Diversity defines us as a community and we are committed to the understanding of our individual and collective cultures within schools.  Our District is part of Surrey’s Local Immigration Partnership (LIP) consortium of government, public, and private institutions, business, non-profit and community agencies working together to engage positively with newcomers, building a more inclusive and welcoming city.